We can't wait to see you at Booth #1018 at Automation Fair® 2019 Click here to register.
ProSoft Insights / Points techniques

Quel switch choisir pour PROFINET?

Langue

Rechercher

Catégories

Tags

Subscribe

Yes, I would like to receive marketing information from ProSoft Technology, Inc., and its affiliates, subsidiary companies and brands indicated below.

I therefore provide my consent to the use of the personal information submitted here for the purpose of providing me marketing information related to ProSoft Technology, Inc. and its affiliates’ and subsidiaries’ products, services and marketing events. I understand that I may withdraw my consent at any time. Additional information regarding ProSoft’s data privacy policies, including how to withdraw this consent, is available at www.prosoft-technology.com/privacy. ProSoft Technology, Inc. is a subsidiary of Belden Inc., and their affiliates, subsidiary companies and brands include ProSoft Technology SAS, ProLinx Comunicacao Industria, LTDA; Global Blue Networks Inc., and ProSoft Technology (Asia Pacific) SDN BHD.

Articles récents

Modbus® module connects water plant’s equipment

17 oct, 2019 / Success stories

A newly built water purification plant in China is outfitted with a Rockwell Automation...

Introducing the ProSoft Podcast!

11 oct, 2019 / Work Smarter

We hope you’ve left room in your podcast rotation: We recently launched the ProSoft Pod...

Un fabricant de machines trouve un moyen efficace pour aider ses clients

08 oct, 2019 / Success stories

Les intégrateurs de système et les fabricants de machines (OEM) ont fait évoluer leur o...

Une centrale électrique contrôle son installation par vidéo en temps réel

04 oct, 2019 / Success stories

En Chine, une centrale électrique devait surveiller le chargement et le déchargement de...

Quel switch choisir pour PROFINET?

Devez-vous utiliser un switch manageable ou non-manageable avec PROFINET? OUI! Oui, vous devez utiliser l'une ou l’autre de ces solutions avec PROFINET.

 

Switches non manageables

Un switch non manageable ne dispose d’aucune intelligence intégrée, sauf lorsqu’il s’agit d’envoyer des trames Ethernet entrantes vers le port adéquat, c’est-à-dire celui auquel le périphérique de destination est connecté. Et seulement celui-là. Ce port dispose de LED à des fins de diagnostic. Chaque port dispose d'une LED indiquant que le trafic Ethernet est actif. Il n’existe aucun moyen de connaître la quantité de bande passante utilisée. Tout comme il n’existe aucune façon de déterminer le nombre de nouvelles tentatives de connexion. Vous pouvez vous procurer ce switch auprès d'un grand nombre de commerçants. Par exemple, il existe un switch Linksys doté de 5 ports que vous pouvez acquérir pour la somme de 33,99 $. Il remplit les exigences système minimales pour PROFINET : c’est un switch Ethernet «full duplex » pouvant aller jusqu’à 100 Mbps. Il est également doté de la fonctionnalité « Quality of Service » (QoS), recommandation de PROFINET. Étant donné que les trames de PROFINET sont automatiquement marquées avec une priorité plus élevée que celle des trames TCP/IP, une trame PROFINET aura une longueur d’avance si une trame TCP/IP et une trame PROFINET arrivent en même temps. La trame PROFINET est envoyée en premier.

 

Switches manageables

Un switch manageable est doté d'une intelligence qui fait défaut aux switches non manageables. Un certain nombre de protocoles informatiques peuvent s’avérer utiles avec des switches manageables, notamment les protocoles Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP), Link Layer Discovery Protocol (LLDP), et Internet Group Management Protocol (IGMP). Évitons d’emblée d’aborder le protocole IGMP : PROFINET n’en a tout simplement pas besoin. Certes, les protocoles qui diffusent les données E/S en temps réel vers plusieurs points en ont besoin. Ce qui n’est pas le cas de PROFINET, qui diffuse vers un seul point. Les protocoles SNMP et LLDP sont utilisés spécifiquement pour retrouver les données que les switches enregistrent. Par exemple, si vous jugez important de recevoir une alerte en cas d’un trop grand nombre de nouvelles tentatives de connexion, le protocole SNMP pourra s’avérer utile. Le protocole SNMP vous aidera également à visualiser la quantité de bande passante utilisée en temps réel. Le protocole LLDP permet au logiciel d’extraire la topologie du réseau. Il déclenche également l'une des fonctionnalités impressionnantes de PROFINET : le remplacement d'un périphérique sans outil logiciel et sans avoir à paramétrer un quelconque switch. 

Il existe un dicton qui dit que: “Soit vous utilisez un switch manageable...soit vous aimeriez en avoir un .”

Un switch manageable fournit des informations pouvant réduire les temps d’arrêt et accélérer la résolution des problèmes lorsque la ligne tombe en panne. Plus les temps d’arrêt coûtent cher à votre entreprise, plus il est important d'investir dans un switch manageable. C’est un véritablement investissement. Certes, les switches manageables coûtent cher. Cependant, ce coût supplémentaire est négligeable si on le compare à celui des temps d’arrêt. Vous devez penser jusqu'ici que ce sujet traite des switches Ethernet autonomes. C’est en effet le cas. Mais sachez que les switches manageables sont également intégrés aux périphériques PROFINET. Ainsi, vous pouvez extraire le même type d'informations de diagnostic à partir d'un switch autonome ou d'un périphérique PROFINET.

Vous pouvez utiliser un serveur OPC-SNMP pour lire les informations obtenues à partir d'un switch manageable, les afficher et mettre en place une alerte via une HMI. Il est fabuleux de pouvoir lire les informations à partir d'une HMI, mais comment procéder si vous souhaitez que l’appareil de contrôle intervienne en tenant compte des informations de diagnostic obtenues ? PROFINET a déjà la solution.

 

Les switches PROFINET

Un switch Ethernet peut aussi être un périphérique PROFINET ! Le switch sera identifié par le PLC comme des données E/S. Cela signifie que le switch disposera d'un fichier GSD, à l'instar de n'importe quel périphérique PROFINET. Ainsi, le fichier GSD définira quelles informations de diagnostic pourront être lues. Par exemple, si le périphérique a été débranché d'un port de switch, le programme automate pourra exécuter une action appropriée. Cette fonctionnalité est encore plus utile si le switch est un périphérique MRP (Media Redundancy Protocole). 

Si le switch signale une erreur dans la boucle, le PLC pourra émettre une alerte et traiter le problème. En fait, il pourra identifier la faille dans la boucle en simplifiant la réponse de maintenance. 

Avec PROFINET, vous pouvez utiliser un switch non manageable, manageable, ou encore un switch servant de données E/S PROFINET. Il est toujours bon d’avoir plusieurs possibilités. Cependant, même si vous le pouvez, n'utilisez pas de switch non manageable, à moins que vous n’ayez les moyens d’assumer les temps d’arrêt.

 

Source: http://profinews.com/2017/01/tech-tip-which-switch-for-profinet/

We can't wait to see you at Booth #1018 at Automation Fair® 2019 Click here to register.
ProSoft Insights / Technology focus

Which Switch for PROFINET?

Language

Search Insights

Categories

Tags

Subscribe

Yes, I would like to receive marketing information from ProSoft Technology, Inc., and its affiliates, subsidiary companies and brands indicated below.

I therefore provide my consent to the use of the personal information submitted here for the purpose of providing me marketing information related to ProSoft Technology, Inc. and its affiliates’ and subsidiaries’ products, services and marketing events. I understand that I may withdraw my consent at any time. Additional information regarding ProSoft’s data privacy policies, including how to withdraw this consent, is available at www.prosoft-technology.com/privacy. ProSoft Technology, Inc. is a subsidiary of Belden Inc., and their affiliates, subsidiary companies and brands include ProSoft Technology SAS, ProLinx Comunicacao Industria, LTDA; Global Blue Networks Inc., and ProSoft Technology (Asia Pacific) SDN BHD.

Recent Posts

Modbus® module connects water plant’s equipment

17 Oct, 2019 / Application stories

A newly built water purification plant in China is outfitted with a Rockwell Automation...

Introducing the ProSoft Podcast!

11 Oct, 2019 / Work Smarter

We hope you’ve left room in your podcast rotation: We recently launched the ProSoft Pod...

Mining OEM finds cost-effective way to help clients

08 Oct, 2019 / Application stories

System integrators and machine builders have increasingly found an expanded business mo...

Power-generation company achieves real-time video monitoring with wireless radios

04 Oct, 2019 / Application stories

A power-generation company needed to reliably monitor the loading and unloading of coal...

Which Switch for PROFINET?

Should you use a managed switch or an unmanaged switch with PROFINET? YES! Yes, you should use either a managed or an unmanaged Ethernet switch with PROFINET.

 

Unmanaged Switches

An unmanaged switch has no built-in intelligence except to send incoming Ethernet frames out the correct port – the port to which the destination device is connected. And only that port. For diagnostics it has LEDs. Each port has an LED indicating that there is Ethernet traffic. There is no way to tell how much bandwidth is being consumed. There is no way to tell if there are lots of re-tries. You can buy such a switch at many retailers. For example, there is a 5-port Linksys switch available for $33.99. It meets the minimum requirements for PROFINET; that is, it’s a 100Mbps full-duplex Ethernet switch. It also includes the Quality of Service (QoS) feature that is recommended for PROFINET. Since PROFINET frames are automatically marked with a priority higher than TCP/IP frames, a PROFINET frame gets a head start if a TCP/IP frame and PROFINET frame arrive at the same time. The PROFINET frame gets sent out first.

 

Managed Switches

A managed switch adds intelligence that an unmanaged switch does not have. A number of IT protocols are useful with managed switches including Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP), Link Layer Discovery Protocol (LLDP), and Internet Group Management Protocol (IGMP). Let’s dispense with IGMP right off the bat – PROFINET does not need it. Protocols that multicast their real-time IO data do need it. PROFINET unicasts. SNMP and LLDP are specialized protocols for retrieving data that switches save. For example, if you think it is important to be alerted if there is an excessive number of re-tries, SNMP can help. If you want to see what bandwidth utilization is in real-time, SNMP can help. LLDP allows software to extract the network topology. LLDP also enables one of the wow-factors of PROFINET: Replacing a device with no software tools needed and no switches to set. 

There is a saying that goes: “You will either use a managed switch… or wish you had.”

A managed switch provides information that can help prevent downtime and speed troubleshooting when the line does go down. The more expensive downtime is in your facility, the more important it is to invest in a managed switch. It is an investment. Managed switches cost more. But the incremental cost is trivial compared to the cost of downtime. Up to now, you probably think this topic covers standalone Ethernet switches. That is true. But managed switches are also contained within PROFINET devices. So the same kind of diagnostic information you can extract from a standalone switch can be extracted from a switch in a PROFINET device.

You can use an OPC-SNMP server to read information from a managed switch and display it and alarm it in an HMI. It’s wonderful that the information can be seen in an HMI, but what if you want the controller to take some action as a result of diagnostic information? PROFINET does that.

 

PROFINET Switches

An Ethernet switch can also be a PROFINET device! The switch will look like IO to the PLC. This means the switch will have a GSD file just like any other PROFINET device. And the GSD file will define what diagnostic information can be read. For example, if a device is unplugged from a switch port, the PLC logic can execute an appropriate action. This is even more valuable if the switch is an MRP device (Media Redundancy Protocol). 

If the switch reports a failure in the ring, the PLC can alarm it and act on it. In fact, it can pinpoint where the break in the ring is, simplifying the maintenance response. 

With PROFINET you can use an unmanaged switch, a managed switch, or a switch that is also PROFINET IO. It’s good to have options. But, even though you can, don’t use an unmanaged switch unless you can afford… the downtime.

 

Source: http://profinews.com/2017/01/tech-tip-which-switch-for-profinet/