ProSoft Insights / Livres blancs

Sécurité : La clé du succès des déploiements IIoT

Rechercher

Catégories

Tags

Subscribe

Yes, I would like to receive marketing information from ProSoft Technology, Inc., and its affiliates, subsidiary companies and brands indicated below.

I therefore provide my consent to the use of the personal information submitted here for the purpose of providing me marketing information related to ProSoft Technology, Inc. and its affiliates’ and subsidiaries’ products, services and marketing events. I understand that I may withdraw my consent at any time. Additional information regarding ProSoft’s data privacy policies, including how to withdraw this consent, is available at www.prosoft-technology.com/privacy. ProSoft Technology, Inc. is a subsidiary of Belden Inc., and their affiliates, subsidiary companies and brands include ProSoft Technology SAS, ProLinx Comunicacao Industria, LTDA; Global Blue Networks Inc., and ProSoft Technology (Asia Pacific) SDN BHD.

Articles récents

Improving Robotic Carriers’ Connectivity in Logistics Applications

21 jan, 2022 / Points techniques

Many distribution centers use automated robotic carriers to quickly move items through ...

OEM enables double-check on mining machine’s position

15 déc, 2021 / Success stories

A machine builder needed two independent sources of position, timing, and velocity data...

Your IT Team Will Love ProSoft Connect’s Latest Security Updates

02 déc, 2021 / Points techniques

The Zero Trust security model endorsed by the NSA advises continuous verification. Find...

DNP3 Solutions Help You Increase Data Integrity

18 nov, 2021 / Infos produits

The DNP3 industrial protocol helps ensure data integrity for utilities, among other app...

Sécurité : La clé du succès des déploiements IIoT

L’Internet Industriel des Objets (IIoT) est aujourd’hui au cœur de l’actualité.  L'un des facteurs clés ayant un impact sur sa mise en place et sa réussite est la sécurité. Une cyber-attaque menée contre un système IIoT pourrait engendrer une perte de données confidentielles, une interruption des activités et une destruction des systèmes. Cela risquerait de ternir la réputation et l’image de la marque, d’entraîner de lourdes pertes financières et de possibles dégâts sur les infrastructures. Pire encore, cela pourrait causer des ravages sur l’environnement, et même engendrer des blessés. Plusieurs éléments sont indispensables pour mettre en place une solution IIoT réussie: des produits fiables, des protocoles et un réseau sécurisés, une veille continue et enfin des employés formés dans le domaine de la cyber-sécurité.

 

Des protocoles sécurisés

Les systèmes IIoT sont parfois dotés de nouvelles techniques de connexion nécessitant des protocoles de communication sécurisés.  Il est important de tenir compte de deux concepts clés concernant les protocoles sécurisés : le cryptage et l’authenticité/l'intégrité des données.  Le cryptage permet de sécuriser les protocoles, mais peut entraver l’action des autres dispositifs de sécurité (tels que les systèmes de détection d'intrusion).  L'intégrité et l’authenticité des données peuvent être assurées sans cryptage (ce qui permet aux systèmes de détection d'intrusion de rester actifs).

Les anciens systèmes utilisent des protocoles de communication non sécurisés.  Les protocoles de communication évoluent progressivement et intègrent des améliorations en matière de sécurité : DNP3 a migré vers DNPV5, OPC-UA, Modbus® évolue vers Modbus Secure, et EtherNet/IP™ devient EtherNet/IP Secure. 

 

L’importance de la confiance dans l‘IIoT

La confiance dans le cycle de vie IIoT réfère à la fois à l'intégrité de chacun des éléments constitutifs d'un système et à l’intégrité des données générées par le système. Cela impacte  la chaîne d’approvisionnement, l'installation, la configuration, l’usage au quotidien et la mise hors service, qui nécessite un contrôle de fiabilité régulier tout au long du cycle de production.

Partons d'un exemple pour illustrer le modèle de l’intégration de la confiance.  Disons qu'un utilisateur final achète un API doté de fonctionnalités de sécurité.  Le fournisseur API achète des micro-processeurs et de la mémoire à des fournisseurs de composants qui expédient leurs produits vers des sites de fabrication.  Les produits logiciels peuvent être développés au sein des centres de développement des fournisseurs ou achetés auprès de partenaires.  Les produits sont fabriqués et expédiés vers des entrepôts.  Le matériel peut alors être expédié vers des distributeurs ou des intégrateurs de systèmes avant d’être expédié aux utilisateurs finaux.  Dans cet exemple, plusieurs organisations manipulent le matériel informatique/les logiciels.  Dans chacun de ces sites, il existe un risque que des problèmes de sécurité émergent.  Les utilisateurs finaux doivent se fier à l’intégrité de la chaîne d’approvisionnement qui fournit ses composants système.  L'intégration de la confiance entre les opérateurs système et les fournisseurs est capitale pour la sécurité des systèmes IIoT.

 

Devenir un expert en cyber-sécurité

L'un des défis auxquels sont confrontés de nombreux utilisateurs finaux du secteur industriel n’est autre que l’expertise en cyber-sécurité.  Le personnel du secteur industriel a développé des compétences de base visant à optimiser les processus.  Les PME, plus que les autres entreprises, rencontrent parfois des difficultés lorsqu'il s’agit de renforcer en interne leur expertise en matière de cyber-sécurité.  Les fournisseurs de matériel et les intégrateurs de système peuvent être sollicités pour obtenir une expertise en cyber-sécurité à moindre coût.  Les fournisseurs allient efficacement le contrôle industriel et l’expertise en cyber-sécurité ; de nombreux consultants informatiques ne sont pas spécialisés en technologies opérationnelles.  Les fournisseurs disposent également de l’expertise nécessaire pour guider les utilisateurs finaux dans le choix des données devant être extraites du processus.

Un autre facteur clé consiste à s’entraîner à utiliser le système pour le gérer efficacement une fois qu'il a été activé.  Il est nécessaire d'imaginer des astuces pour gérer, contrôler et mettre à jour efficacement les processus.  Des conseils sur les politiques relatives à la sécurité propre à l’entreprise sont également essentiels.

 

Le cloud

Les services du cloud permettent d’utiliser des capacités informatiques externes pour analyser et contrôler les infrastructures opérationnelles. Dans une architecture basée sur le cloud, les données issues de milliers d’appareils sont stockées, analysées et accessibles à partir d'un serveur unique.  L'infrastructure du cloud peut être pilotée au sein du réseau de l’entreprise ou bien géré par un partenaire, en dehors du réseau.  De nombreux utilisateurs finaux mettent actuellement en place des modèles internes basés sur le cloud.  Les données extraites de l’IIoT seraient rassemblées et stockées dans des équipements installés au sein du réseau de l’entreprise.  L’hébergement des données sur des équipements internes connectés à un réseau contrôlé par les utilisateurs finaux permet de sauvegarder les informations potentiellement confidentielles.

La collaboration avec un partenaire externe crée un certain nombre de limites de confiance pouvant avoir un impact sur la sécurité et la confidentialité. Les informations doivent être protégées tant sur le plan de la vie privée que sur celui de la sécurité. Par exemple, le vol d’identifiants pourrait permettre aux cybercriminels d’accéder à des données confidentielles. De plus, il est probable que des attaques visant d’autres clients du cloud, hébergés par le partenaire, se propagent.

 

Assurez-vous de consulter la 2ème partie de ce billet de blog - « Expertise en intégration pour le déploiement de l’IIoT » – en mars sur ProSoft Insights.

À propos de l’auteur: Fabrice Jadot a rejoint Schneider Electric en 1997 et s’est spécialisé dans le contrôle des moteurs au sein du service R&D dans le cadre de l’activité des systèmes d’entraînement à vitesse variable, qui a fusionné avec Toshiba en 2000 sous la forme d'une joint-venture portant le nom de Schneider Toshiba Inverter. En 2012, il a rejoint la partie « corporate » de l’entreprise en tant que VP des Plates-formes Stratégie et Innovation, gérant les plates-formes technologiques transversales dans le domaine des services digitaux, la supervision et le contrôle intégré. Aujourd’hui, il occupe le poste de Directeur des Technologies pour les activités industrielles en matière d’architecture des systèmes automatiques, de cyber-sécurité et la transformation numérique automatisée (Internet industriel des Objets, Industrie 4.0, etc.). En 2015, il est devenu membre du Conseil d’administration d’ODVA, une association internationale constituée d'individus issus des meilleures entreprises spécialisées dans l’automatisation. Il aime beaucoup voyager et plus particulièrement visiter des sites historiques et architecturaux, ainsi que la dégustation de vin et les balades. 

Source: http://blog.schneider-electric.com/

ProSoft Insights / White papers

Security: The Key to Successful IIoT Deployments

Search Insights

Categories

Tags

Subscribe

Yes, I would like to receive marketing information from ProSoft Technology, Inc., and its affiliates, subsidiary companies and brands indicated below.

I therefore provide my consent to the use of the personal information submitted here for the purpose of providing me marketing information related to ProSoft Technology, Inc. and its affiliates’ and subsidiaries’ products, services and marketing events. I understand that I may withdraw my consent at any time. Additional information regarding ProSoft’s data privacy policies, including how to withdraw this consent, is available at www.prosoft-technology.com/privacy. ProSoft Technology, Inc. is a subsidiary of Belden Inc., and their affiliates, subsidiary companies and brands include ProSoft Technology SAS, ProLinx Comunicacao Industria, LTDA; Global Blue Networks Inc., and ProSoft Technology (Asia Pacific) SDN BHD.

Recent Posts

Putting together a remote access network really can be this quick

06 Aug, 2020 / Videos

Remote connectivity can keep your employees safe, help you decrease downtime, and cut y...

Wireless I/O: No Trenching, No Permits, No Conduit. No Problem.

30 Jul, 2020 / Work Smarter

With Wireless I/O solutions, you can avoid the permits, trenching, and conduit that are...

Need to Replace Your Molex® SST™ Module?

15 Jul, 2020 / Products focus

With some Molex® SST™ products being moved to the obsolete column, your best approach m...

Streamlined Migrations for Legacy Products

09 Jul, 2020 / Products focus

New modules and updated features will help you replace your legacy units, and bring gre...

Security: The Key to Successful IIoT Deployments

The Industrial Internet of Things (IIoT) has been a hot topic of late. One key consideration that will impact its acceptance rate and ultimate success is security.  A successful attack on an IIoT system could result in the loss of sensitive data, interruption of operations, and destruction of systems. This will result in damage to brand and reputation, material economic loss and damage to critical infrastructure. Worse, there could be damage to the environment, injury or loss of human life. A secure IIoT solution is comprised of a variety of elements, including secure products, secure protocols, a secure network, ongoing security monitoring, and employees with cybersecurity expertise.

 

Secure Protocols

IIoT systems may feature new connection techniques that will require secure communication protocols. It is important to consider two key concepts when discussing secure protocols – encryption and data integrity/authenticity. Encryption can be used to secure protocols, but it can inhibit other security appliances like Intrusion Detection Systems. Data integrity and authenticity can be provided without encryption, enabling intrusion detection systems.

Legacy systems utilized insecure communications protocols. Communications protocols are evolving to incorporate security enhancement - DNP3 has moved to DNPV5, OPC-UA, Modbus® is evolving to Modbus Secure, and EtherNet/IP™ is becoming EtherNet/IP Secure. Selection of secure protocols is required to enhance solution security.

 

Permeation of Trust in the IIoT Lifecycle

Trust in the IIoT lifecycle refers to both the integrity of each element in a system and the integrity of data generated by the system. Trust impacts supply chain, installation, configuration, regular usage, and eventual decommissioning - requiring regular monitoring to ensure that trustworthiness is preserved throughout the product lifecycle.

Let’s use an example to illustrate the permeation of trust model.  Assume an end user is purchasing a PLC with secure features.  The PLC vendor purchases microprocessors and memory from component vendors who ship their products to manufacturing sites. Product software can be developed at vendor development facilities or purchased from partners.  Products are fabricated and shipped to warehouses.  Equipment can then be shipped to distributors or system integrators prior to shipment to end users.  In this example, we have multiple organizations handling the hardware/software.  There is the potential for security issues to be introduced at any of these locations.  End users must have trust in the integrity of the supply chain providing system components.  Permeation of trust between system operators and suppliers is key to the security of IIoT systems.

 

Acquiring Cybersecurity Expertise

One challenge facing many industrial end users is cybersecurity expertise. Industrial personnel have developed core competencies focused on optimizing processes. Small- to medium-sized companies in particular may have difficulty internally building cybersecurity expertise. Equipment vendors and system integrators can be leveraged to cost-effectively provide cybersecurity expertise. Vendors effectively merge industrial control and cybersecurity expertise – many IT-based consultants lack OT expertise. Vendors will also have the expertise to guide end users in the selection of data that should be pulled from the process.

Another key consideration is training to effectively operate a system after it has been activated. Tips to effectively operate, monitor, and update processes need to be implemented. Guidance on proper corporate security policies is also critical.

 

Cloud Considerations

Cloud services enable external computing power to be utilized to analyze and control OT infrastructure. In a cloud architecture, data from thousands of devices is stored, analyzed, and accessed from a server. The cloud infrastructure can be located within the corporate network, or outside the network operated by a partner.  Many end users are implementing an internal cloud model. Data pulled from the IIoT would be gathered and stored on equipment residing in the corporate network. Housing data on internal equipment connected to a network controlled by the end user helps to safeguard potentially critical data.

Using an external partner creates a number of trust boundaries that can impact security and privacy. Information must be protected for both privacy and security. For example, stolen credentials could allow attackers to access critical data. Moreover, attacks on other cloud customers hosted by the partner may propagate.

 

Make sure to check out Part 2 of this blog post - “Implementation expertise when deploying the IIoT” – in March on ProSoft Insights.

About the Author: Fabrice Jadot first joined Schneider Electric in 1997, focusing on motor control within R&D as part of the variable speed drives activity, which became a joint venture with Toshiba in 2000 named Schneider Toshiba Inverter. In 2012, he joined the corporate side of the company as the Strategy and Innovation Platforms VP, dealing with cross-business technology platforms in the domain of digital services, supervisory control, and embedded control. Today, he is the Chief Technology Officer for Industry business driving automation system architecture, cybersecurity, and automation digital transformation (Industrial Internet of Things, Industry 4.0, etc.). In 2015, he became a board member of ODVA, an international association comprised of members from the world's leading automation companies. He enjoys traveling, especially visiting historical sites and architectures, along with wine tasting and walking. 

Source: http://blog.schneider-electric.com/